Platte County Park Board

Since 2000, the parks system in Platte County has grown from a single 18-acre neighborhood park to six regional parks, over 30 miles of trails, and two indoor community centers with 150,000 square feet of health, wellness and aquatic space.

Partnerships are the foundation of the Platte County parks system. With leadership from the County Commission and Park Board, partnerships have been developed with every city, school district, and recreation non-profit organization in the county to provide recreational services. These collaborations help to keep our parks well maintained and safe while leveraging the dedicated tax dollars and avoiding duplication of services.

To view the current Parks Master Plan and learn more about our mission and goals click here.


  • Scott Fricker

    Presiding Commissioner

  • Dagmar Wood

    1st District Commissioner

  • Joe Vanover

    2nd District Commissioner


  • Mike Claxton

    Chair President

  • Jim Kunce

    Vice Chair

  • Kelly Watkins


  • Jane Scheckel

  • Nelsie Henning

  • Jeramy Cook

  • Charlotte Hoverder

Interested in Learning More?

The Park Board meets bi-monthly at 5:30 pm. Weather dependent, some meetings will be held on-site at different park properties. Indoor meetings are generally held at the Platte County Administration Building, 415 Third Street, Platte City. Building is behind the courthouse. Entrance is on Third Street. All meetings are open to the public, and feedback and participation are always welcome.

NEXT Park Board MEETING: Tuesday, June 25, 2024, 5:30PM at Platte County Administration Building, 2nd floor in the Commission Meeting Room. Subject of this meeting will be Outreach Grant Application parameters and park board officers appointed. 

Platte County Parks Staff

Daniel Erickson


Chris Oryshyn

Assistant Director

Pat Clark

Park Superintendent

Jackie Halloran

Recreation & Marketing Coordinator